Financial Report 2016

Portfolio

The EAA thus continues to help stabilise the financial markets

Wind-up 2016

  • Loans and securities: minus EUR 6.3 billion or minus 18%
  • Remaining notional volume: roughly EUR 29.7 billion
  • Derivative financial products: minus EUR 83 billion or minus 24%
  • Remaining notional volume: roughly EUR 259 billion

The EAA’s portfolio is already significantly smaller than originally planned for this date. This clearly shows that the EAA is making good progress towards attaining its goals.

The EAA has a clear public mandate of winding up the acquired multi-billion portfolio in a risk-minimising and value-preserving manner. The EAA consistently examines the options of accelerating the wind-up of the portfolio of the former WestLB, but not at all costs. If higher values for a position can be achieved in the long term, it has the option to wait.

In order to achieve its objectives, the EAA has created its own range of tools centred around its long-term wind-up plan. This provides analyses for each individual asset position as well as information on its fundamental value, potential risks and the costs of management. Based on these tools, the EAA is able to design the wind-up process in a both value- and risk-optimising manner.

Successful activities in 2016

The EAA reduced its loan and securities portfolio in a balanced way. The investment-grade share was 69% at the end of 2016 and is higher than at the time the portfolio was taken over in 2012 and 2010.

In order to optimally manage the wind-up process, the EAA divides its loan and securities portfolio into clusters. Also in 2016 the EAA continued to make significant progress in reducing commitments in numerous segments, for example in winding up loan exposure in various – partly difficult – sector clusters.

  • Aviation: minus 42%, wind-up of around EUR 220 million to roughly EUR 300 million.
  • Construction/ specialty chemicals/ health industry: minus 55%, wind-up of around EUR 160 million to roughly EUR 130 million.
  • Energy producers: minus 31%, wind-up of around EUR 230 million to roughly EUR 530 million.
  • Logistics/ services: minus 84%, wind-up of roughly EUR 170 million to around EUR 30 million.
  • Shipping: minus 17%, wind-up of around EUR 50 million to roughly EUR 270 million.

When winding up the trading portfolio, the EAA in 2016 has also concentrated on reducing the complexity of the portfolio. This facilitates the management of the portfolio and reduces costs and risks.

  • Complete wind-up of individual product groups, for example commodity derivatives. Future IT costs will decrease because a system used for managing the products is no longer necessary.
  • Targeted wind-up of complex equity derivatives, in particular by transfer (novation) to other banks.
  • Reduction in the number of derivative contracting partners by additional six per cent to around 500 in 2016; at the time the trading portfolio was taken over, this figure was over 900. Risks from a possible deterioration of the counterparty’s creditworthiness are lower and management expenses are reduced.

Announced and implemented

In the past fiscal year 2016, the EAA was able to successfully implement several measures that had been under preparation for a long period. Significant progress was made in the wind-up of its participations portfolio as well as in sub-portfolios, where the wind-up is being complicated by litigataions.

Keyword: Litigation

A large portfolio with interest rate swap contracts led to legal disputes with – at its peak – more than 60 municipalities. By the end of December 2016, the EAA was able to reach a settlement in approx. two thirds of all cases that had led to a legal claim. The agreement was possible only after the EAA had appealed in several cases to the German Federal Court of Justice (BGH). Decisions by the BGH from 2015 and 2016 strengthened the EAA’s position.

In the United States, the EAA achieved a settlement with a major bank that had acted as a trustee in a loan securitisation transaction. The financial crisis centred on loan securitisations, and they are therefore the subject of several legal cases in the United States. While other claimants usually pursue a claim only against the investment banks that had issued such securities, the EAA also examined the role of trustees and successfully integrated this into its legal strategy.

Keyword: Participations

The EAA took over more than 320 participations – 120 direct and 200 indirect –, ranging from credit institutions and private equity companies to business schools. Approx. 1,400 special-purpose entities worldwide were also added, for example, for leasing and other financing or banking transactions. At the end of 2016, there were still 154 participations – 80 direct and 74 indirect – as well as 402 special-purpose entities.

The EAA’s participation management focused on accelerating the wind-up of complex commitments requiring considerable management effort. For instance, the sale of WestFonds Immobilien Anlagegesellschaft mbH alone enabled a simultaneous wind-up of 70 indirect participations. Also in 2016, the EAA ended a participation in which its withdrawal had been blocked for over 20 years due to a legal dispute with a central bank in South America.

By implementing measures in the participations portfolio, the EAA was able to increase the value in many cases and thereby stabilise its equity. An example of this is the sale of a poorly marketable participation in a company that provides electronic card systems. This sale enabled the EAA to realise significant hidden reserves in 2016.

Portfolio 2017

The trading portfolio is mainly made up of interest derivatives with a notional volume of EUR 256 billion, accounting for a share of 99 per cent.
The remaining banking book portfolio of nearly EUR 30 billion consists of loans and securities.

  • The loan portfolio centres on project financing. The EAA manages around 40 long-term loans for infrastructure projects, including toll motorways, roads and bridges, airports and harbours or even hospital and water supply projects. In addition to these, it also has nearly 100 large power plant projects, with both conventional as well as alternative energy sources.
  • The structured loans portfolio is dominated by commitments that are connected to loans in the US housing market (67%). The market value of these loans has increased considerably after the financial crisis; however, they have yet to recover to pre-crisis levels.
  • Tradable securities mostly consist of European government bonds and similar instruments from public borrowers. As at 31 December 2016, the portfolio included over five billion Euros, approx. two thirds of which are distributed among the southern European countries of Italy, Spain and Cyprus.

Geschäftsbericht 2016

Portfolio

So trägt die EAA weiterhin zur Stabilisierung der Finanzmärkte bei

Abbau 2016

  • Kredite und Wertpapiere: minus 6,3 Milliarden Euro oder minus 18%
  • Verbliebenes Nominalvolumen: rund 29,7 Milliarden Euro
  • Derivative Finanzprodukte: minus 83 Milliarden Euro oder minus 24%
  • Verbliebenes Nominalvolumen: rund 259 Milliarden Euro

Das Portfolio der EAA ist damit bereits erheblich kleiner als ursprünglich für diesen Zeitpunkt geplant. Das zeigt, dass die EAA bei der Umsetzung ihrer Ziele gut vorankommt.

Die EAA hat einen klaren öffentlichen Auftrag: das übernommene Multi-Milliarden-Portfolio risikominimierend und wertschonend abzubauen. Die EAA prüft laufend Möglichkeiten, um die Abwicklung des Portfolios der einstigen WestLB zu beschleunigen – jedoch nicht um jeden Preis. Lassen sich auf lange Sicht höhere Werte für eine Position realisieren, hat sie die Option zu warten.

Um ihre Ziele zu erreichen, hat die EAA sich ein eigenes Instrumentarium geschaffen, in dessen Mittelpunkt ihr langfristig angelegter Abwicklungsplan steht. Er bietet Analysen für jede einzelne Vermögensposition, Angaben zu ihrem fundamentalen Wert, über potenzielle Risiken bis hin zu den Kosten ihrer Verwaltung. Auf dieser Basis kann die EAA den Abbauprozess wert- und risikooptimiert gestalten.

Erfolge 2016

Die EAA baute ihr Kredit- und Wertpapier-Portfolio ausgewogen ab: Der Investment-Grade-Anteil lag Ende 2016 bei 69% und ist höher als etwa bei Übernahme der Portfolios im Jahr 2012 beziehungsweise 2010.

Um den Abwicklungsprozess optimal zu steuern, unterteilt die EAA ihre Kredit- und Wertpapierbestände in Cluster. Auch im Jahr 2016 konnte sie den Abbau vieler Segmente zügig vorantreiben, beispielsweise die Abwicklung von Kreditengagements in verschiedensten – teils auch schwierigen – Branchen-Clustern.

  • Luftfahrt: minus 42%, Abbau rund 220 Mio. EUR auf gut 300 Mio. EUR
  • Bau-/Spezialchemie-/Gesundheitsindustrie: minus 55%, Abbau rund 160 Mio. EUR auf rund 130 Mio. EUR
  • Energie-Produzenten: minus 31%, Abbau rund 230 Mio. EUR auf knapp 530 Mio. EUR
  • Logistik-/Dienstleistungen: minus 84%, Abbau knapp 170 Mio. EUR auf rund 30 Mio. EUR
  • Schifffahrt: minus 17%, Abbau gut 50 Mio. EUR auf knapp 270 Mio. EUR

Bei der Abwicklung des Handelsbestands konzentrierte die EAA ihre Maßnahmen auch 2016 darauf, die Komplexität des Portfolios zu reduzieren: Das erleichtert die Steuerung, senkt Kosten und Risiken.

  • Vollständige Abwicklung einzelner Produktgruppen, etwa Rohstoffderivate; ein zur Steuerung eingesetztes IT-System wird daher künftig nicht mehr benötigt.
  • Gezielter Abbau von komplexen Aktienderivaten, insbesondere durch Übertragung (Novation) auf andere Banken.
  • Die Zahl der Derivate-Vertragspartner wurde 2016 um weitere rund sechs Prozent auf rund 500 reduziert, bei Übernahme des Handelsbestands waren es mehr als 900. Solche Maßnahmen senken die Risiken aus der möglichen Verschlechterung der Bonität von Kontrahenten sowie den Verwaltungsaufwand.

Angekündigt und umgesetzt

Im abgelaufenen Geschäftsjahr 2016 hat die EAA zahlreiche langfristig vorbereitete Maßnahmen erfolgreich abschließen können. Wesentliche Fortschritte erzielte sie unter anderem bei der Abwicklung ihres Beteiligungsportfolios sowie bei Teilportfolios, deren Abbau durch Rechtsstreitigkeiten erschwert ist.

Stichwort: Klagen

Ein großes Portfolio mit Zinsswap-Verträgen führte zu Rechtsstreitigkeiten mit – in der Spitze – mehr als 60 Kommunen. Bis Ende Dezember 2016 konnte die EAA rund zwei Drittel aller Fälle, die zu Klagen geführt hatten, durch Vergleiche beenden. Die Einigung war erst möglich, nachdem die EAA in mehreren Fällen den Bundesgerichtshof (BGH) angerufen hatte. Entscheidungen des BGH aus den Jahren 2015 und 2016 stärkten die Position der EAA.

In den USA setzte sich die EAA gegen eine Großbank durch, die als Treuhänderin im Kreditverbriefungsgeschäft agiert hatte. Kreditverbriefungen standen im Mittelpunkt der Finanzkrise und sind daher Gegenstand vieler Verfahren in den USA. Während andere Kläger in der Regel nur gegen Investmentbanken vorgehen, die solche Wertpapiere aufgelegt haben, hat die EAA auch die Rolle der Treuhänder untersucht und erfolgreich in ihre Klagestrategie einbezogen.

Stichwort: Beteiligungen

Der EAA wurden mehr als 320 Beteiligungen – 120 direkte und etwa 200 indirekte -übertragen. Die Bandbreite reichte von Kreditinstituten über Private-Equity-Gesellschaften bis zu Business Schools. Dazu kamen rund 1400 Zweckgesellschaften weltweit, etwa für Leasing- und andere Finanzierungs- oder Bankbeteiligungsgeschäfte. Ende 2016 standen noch 154 Beteiligungen zu Buche – 80 direkte und 74 indirekte – sowie 402 Zweckgesellschaften.

Das Beteiligungsmanagement der EAA konzentriert sich darauf, insbesondere komplexe Engagements mit hohem Steuerungsaufwand beschleunigt abzuwickeln. Allein der 2016 erfolgte Verkauf der WestFonds Immobilien-Anlagegesellschaft mbH machte es zum Beispiel möglich, zugleich rund 70 indirekte Beteiligungen abzubauen. Unter anderem gelang es auch eine Beteiligung zu beenden, bei der ein Rückzug seit mehr als 20 Jahren durch den Rechtsstreit mit einer südamerikanischen Zentralbank blockiert war.

Durch Maßnahmen im Beteiligungsportfolio konnte die EAA in vielen Fällen Werte heben und damit ihr Eigenkapital stabilisieren. So realisierte sie 2016 beispielsweise erhebliche stille Reserven beim Verkauf einer kaum marktgängigen Beteiligung an einem Anbieter elektronischer Kartensysteme.

Portfolio 2017

Der Handelsbestand besteht maßgeblich aus Zinsderivaten, mit einem Nominalvolumen von rund 256 Milliarden Euro und einem Anteil von rund 99 Prozent. Das verbliebene Bankbuchportfolio von knapp 30 Milliarden Euro setzt sich aus Krediten und Wertpapieren zusammen:

  • Im Kreditportfolio bilden Projektfinanzierungen den Schwerpunkt. Die EAA managt rund 40 langlaufende Kredite für Infrastrukturprojekte, darunter Mautautobahnen, Straßen, Brücken, Flug- und Seehäfen oder auch Wasserversorgungsprojekte. Dazu kommen knapp 100 große Kraftwerksprojekte, mit konventionellen wie auch alternativen Energieträgern.
  • Im Portfolio der strukturierten Kredite dominieren die Engagements, die mit Darlehen am US-Häusermarkt verknüpft sind (67%). Deren Marktwert hat sich nach der Finanzkrise deutlich erholt, ohne jedoch das Vorkrisen-Niveau wieder zu erreichen.
  • Bei den handelbaren Wertpapieren überwiegen europäische Staatsanleihen und vergleichbare Titel öffentlicher Schuldner. Ende 2016 umfassten sie ein Volumen von mehr als fünf Milliarden Euro, rund zwei Drittel entfallen auf die südeuropäischen Länder Italien, Spanien und Zypern.